Burnside Album Details

Neto, Jovino Santos Quinteto, Current

Adventure Music announces Current, a new studio recording featuring original compositions by Jovino Santos Neto, written exclusively for his Seattle-based Quinteto. The compositions span a wide range of contemporary Brazilian styles, based on the traditional forms of choro, baiĆ£o, marcha, samba and xote, but with modern harmonic approaches and inspired improvisations by all musicians. The band was formed in late 1993, and its line-up has remained constant over the years, with Chuck Deardorf, Mark Ivester, Harvey Wainapel and Jeff Busch. Jovino Santos Neto, a three-time Latin Grammy nominee, composed and arranged this new set of music to bring to the recording studio the same the energy, interaction and musical telepathy that have captivated live audiences around the United States. The result is Current.